you have any questions regarding traffic
related issues contact:
at (201) 670-3946 Ext. 1 or E-Mail
Highway Traffic Safety in conjunction with the New Jersey State
Police and the Glen Rock Police would like to remind everyone of
Over Law” which provides safety for All Emergency
Workers: Police, Fire EMS, Tow Trucks and Road Construction
for more information.
Department get some new wheels
to Right: Mayor J. Van Kuren, Chief F. Stahman, P.O. A. Pyatak)
Calling the borough a "perfect
environment for a police motorcycle," Glen Rock Chief of
Police Frederick P. Stahman last week unveiled the local force's
first patrol bike in more than 20 years.
A gift to the force from the Haworth
Police Department, the 1999 BMW R1100RTP police cycle will
become part of the department's fleet, with four designated
officer-riders completing an 80-hour motorcycle training program
at the Bergen County Police Academy.
In a statement provided to the Glen
Rock Gazette, Stahman said, "With the donation of the bike,
and many volunteered hours outfitting the motorcycle by Officer
Adam Pyatak, the unit is patrol-ready."
He noted that motorcycle officers will
be able to respond to all calls handled by patrol cars. In
addition to the standard police radio, the unit is equipped with
a radar unit, oxygen, defibrillator, first aid gear, flares,
police line tape, flashlight and clipboard with all standard
police forms. It is outfitted with a siren and all required
emergency lighting. And this year's purchase of upgraded laptop
computers for borough police cars included a smaller unit
designed for the motorcycle.
Enumerating situational advantages of
motorcycles, Stahman cited access to off-road locations
unreachable by cars on school grounds, parks and recreational
areas; increased stealth of traffic patrol with the ability to
park in discreet locations; and improved "community"
policing, as "an officer on a motorcycle tends to be more
approachable (than one in a patrol car)."
He added that with bicycle safety an
important issue, "police officers on a motorcycle can serve
as a role model for the importance of wearing a helmet."
Stahman also noted the ongoing cost
benefit of the bike's fuel economy, with the BMW rated at
between 50 and 65 miles per gallon.
Finally, the vehicle will add to
community occasions, by leading parades and other processions
and assisting in the annual Special Olympics Torch Run.
The last police motorcycle in the
borough was active more than two decades ago, but that unit was
not outfitted to perform the full-service range required of a
true departmental unit.
In January 2010, New Jersey's seat belt law
was upgraded. It is now required by law that all people in an
automobile are required to wear their seatbelts. While a car may
be stopped for the front seat driver and passengers not wearing
their seatbelts as a "primary offense", the rear
seat passengers are considered a "secondary offense" and
must be stopped for something other than the rear seat passengers
not wearing their seat belts.
New Jersey's new
rear seat belt law:
NOT increase the existing fine for not wearing a seat
NOT add points to a driver's motor vehicle record;
NOT create a new surcharge or additional payment fees
New Jersey's new
seat belt law:
applies to all passenger
vehicles that are required to be equipped with seat belts
applies to drivers, front
and rear seat passengers
continues the existing
requirement that the driver is responsible for seat belt use
by front and rear seat passengers who are under the age of 18
New Jersey’s existing child passenger law:
’s child passenger safety
law allows Officers to stop and issue a summons to a motorist
solely for not securing children as legally required.
These are the guidelines for the child passenger safety law
that will keep you in compliance with the law.
up to 20 pounds and
one year of age must be secured in the back seat of a motor
vehicle in a federally approved rear-facing infant or
convertible car seat. (Many
newer convertible seats are approved for rear-facing use up to
30-35 pounds). If
the motor vehicle doesn’t have a back seat, the infant
must be secured in the front seat of the vehicle in the same
rear-facing manner. A
rear-facing car seat, however, should NEVER be installed in
the front seat of a motor vehicle equipped with an active
airbag. Prior to
installing a rear-facing car seat, the air bag must be
switched to off (if the vehicle is equipped with an on/off
switch) or permission to deactivate the airbag must be
obtained from the National Highway Traffic Safety
the front seat should be pushed back as far as possible.
between 20 and 40 pounds
(applies to most children between one and four years of age)
must be secured in the back seat of a motor vehicle in a
federally approved convertible car seat or a booster seat
(with a five point harness system).
The child must be facing forward in an upright
there is no back seat in the motor vehicle, the child must
be secured in the front seat of the vehicle in the same
forward facing manner, with the vehicles seat pushed back as
far as possible.
between 40 and 80 pounds
(applies to most children between four and eight years of age)
must be secured in the back seat of a motor vehicle in a
federally approved booster seat using the lap and shoulder
belt. If there
is no back seat in the motor vehicle, the child must be
secured in the front seat in the same manner as the back, with
the vehicle’s seat pushed back as far as possible.
passengers under 18 years of age (but
older that 8 years of age or weighing more than 80 pounds)
are required to wear a seat belt when riding anywhere in a
motor vehicle. Children
under 12 should ride in the back seat of a motor vehicle –
the safest place – when possible.
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY
Despite widespread efforts to educate drivers
about the importance of properly restraining children in vehicles,
auto accidents continue to be a leading cause of death among young
people. Almost six out of ten children killed in collisions are
unrestrained, indicating that a large number of these deaths could
be are prevented. In New Jersey, as well as many other states, it
is illegal for children to ride unrestrained, yet in four out of
ten cases, drivers don’t properly restrain their young
passengers. Glen Rock police officers are extremely concerned
about this problem and are quite vigilant in stopping and issuing
summonses to drivers who violate this provision of the motor
Children 12 and under should ride properly
restrained in a rear seat.
Infants should NEVER ride in the front seat
of a vehicle with a passenger side air bag.
Small children should ride in a rear seat
in child safety seats approved for their age and size.
Check your vehicle owner’s manual and the
instructions provided with your child safety seat for correct
Everyone should buckle both lap and
shoulder belts where available.
GLEN ROCK POLICE HONORED
From L to R: P.O. Scott McGovern , AAA
V.P. James Dobi, Chief Fred Stahman, Captain Jon Miller
At a recent AAA North Jersey Community Traffic Safety luncheon, Glen Rock
Police were presented with the AAA Award for Outstanding
The award is presented to communities for outstanding traffic safety
program activities. The Glen Rock Police Department conducts
roving D.W.I. patrols, speed enforcement details, other various motor
vehicle check points and inspections, and is active in the school system. The
department also conducts child safety seat inspections and
SAFETY SEAT EDUCATION & INSTALLATION PROGRAM
Glen Rock Police Department is resuming its Child Passenger Safety
HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION
SPEED & TRAFFIC ENFORCEMENT
Stealth Police Car
As part of our normal patrol operations, the Glen
Rock Police Department enforces all laws governing the safe
operation of motor vehicles. All marked patrol units are equipped
with state-of-the-art radar units to monitor and deter speed limit
violators. Towards that goal the department also utilizes two "stealth" police
vehicles. These patrol cars are fully marked, but do not have the
customary emergency lighting equipment on its roof, thus making it
more difficult for violators to detect.
Speed & Message Display Trailer
As an additional deterrent and
safety measure, the department purchased in June of 2000 a digital
The 900 pound trailer is towed by a police vehicle
to an area in town that needs additional enforcement and set up
for monitoring speed. While the speeds displayed on the
message board are accurate, this trailer is not designed to
take photos of passing cars or used to issue summonses. The
message board is equipped to not only display the speed of
oncoming traffic, but can also be set to display pre-programmed or
Use of this sign, followed with periodic
enforcement, has proven to be an effective means of making drivers
more aware of their speed. As a reminder, most borough streets and
roadways have a posted speed limit of 25 MPH.
If you feel a need for additional enforcement
on your street, please contact the Traffic Safety Division.
Rules for Provisional Drivers' Licenses:
March 30, 2010
DRIVER LICENSE PROGRAM FOR TEENS:
The G.D.L. law,
which became effective Jan. 1, 2001, includes provisions that:
the amount of time between the granting of a permit and
eligibility for a license,
an intermediate, or "probationary" license for new
restrictions on the driving hours and number of passengers on
first-year drivers under age 21.
A special learner’s permit
is issued to 16-year-olds enrolled in driving schools or
behind-the-wheel driver education programs in their high schools.
They are prohibited from practice driving from 11 p.m. to 5
a.m. (formerly midnight to 5 a.m.), and their supervising driver
will have to be at least 21 years of age, have a New Jersey
driver’s license, and have three years of driving experience.
Upon completing of driver training and passing a State
administered driver's test, drivers will be granted a Probationary
Probationary Drivers License
- Special Conditions
Effective May 1, 2010
On May 1,
2010, the requirements for all teens (16-20 years of age)
holding a permit or provisional license under New Jersey's
License (GDL) Law, will change. To ensure that GDL holders
comply with the law, they and their parents should be aware that
not be on the road between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.
transport only one passenger in the vehicle besides his or
her dependents (their own child, not brothers or sisters).
a parent or guardian is in the vehicle, the passenger
restriction is waived and the teen may transport as many
passengers as there are seat belts.)
systems - portable or built-in - and ipods connected to a
vehicle's sound system are permitted, but a teen should not make
devices while driving.)
ensure that all vehicle occupants are properly restrained in
child safety seats or seat belts.
display a decal on the front and rear license plate.
not plea bargain any point carrying offenses.
There will be NO grandfathering of existing
permit and provisional license holders. Regardless of how much
time a GDL holder has
remaining on her or his permit or provisional
license, s/he must abide by these requirements beginning May 1.
In addition, the name of
provisional license will change to probationary; this will be
reflected on documents issued after May 1.
Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is charged with designing and
distributing the decal, which must be displayed on a vehicle's
rear license plate when a permit or provisional license holder
under 21 years of age is driving. The decal will be:
(it is intended for enforcement purposes).
for violations of any of the conditions of a probationary
one probationary license violation conviction can result in the
suspension of the probationary driver's driving privileges.
of a probationary driver’s license whose probationary licensing
period is NOT extended by MVC beyond the standard 12 months MUST
upgrade to a basic drivers license after the end of the 12 months.
Motorists who are eligible for but who do NOT upgrade to a
Basic Driver License at the end of those 12 months will
remain subject to MVC’s Probationary Driver License
regulations and could be cited by law enforcement for violating
Probationary Driver License regulations.
information can be found at www.njteendriving.com
- New Jersey's online resource for all things teen driving.
while talking on a cellular phone:
situations, such as for reporting medical and roadside
emergencies and hazards, criminal acts and other similar
circumstances, are exempt.
Over the past year the New Jersey Division of
Highway Traffic Safety, New Jersey Division of State Police, New
Jersey Chiefs of Police Association and the New Jersey Traffic
Officers Association initiated the Aggressive Driver Campaign.
Their goal is to remove the aggressive drivers from our roadways.
As this pilot program begins, police are currently focusing their
attention on state highways. An aggressive driver is anyone who
operates a motor vehicle in an abusive, offensive, hostile or
belligerent manner and who creates an unsafe environment for other
vehicles on the roadway. Many motor vehicle accidents can be
attributed to the aggressive driver, often resulting in injuries
and deaths on our highways.
The aggressive driver is identified as anyone
who commits violations such as:
Driving while intoxicated
Following too closely
Making unsafe lane changes
Driving carelessly or inattentively
Disregarding traffic signals or stop signs
Failing to keep right
A toll free telephone number, 1-888-SAF-ROAD,
(1-888-732-7623) can be called to report aggressive drivers at any
The law requires that you
for pedestrians in crosswalks.
If you have any questions regarding traffic
related issues contact:
at (201) 670-3946 Ext. 1 or
via Traffic Division.